The British Curriculum

World-class education

British education, both school and university has achieved a worldwide reputation for quality. The United Kingdom annually welcomes hundreds of thousands of students from all over the world to study in its educational institutions. The numbers studying in the British system is increasing annually. Why is this? British educational traditions have developed over decades and centuries, encouraged and monitored by the Government and led by outstanding institutions such as Universities like Oxford and Cambridge and by some of the world famous Independent Schools, like Eton, Harrow and Winchester. Britain has known how to encourage such institutions to set the pace for others to follow, to achieve standards of academic excellence, and to be leaders. British education is renowned for concerning itself with the development of the whole personality. Learning is important, but not enough in itself. Young people need to develop their potential to explore and discover the world around them, to think for themselves and form opinions, to relate to others, to develop their bodies through sport and physical education, and to gain experience in taking responsibility. Parents who choose a British School that follows the English National Curriculum can therefore be sure that wherever they go in the world, the standards will be comparable to the UK, where Government monitoring of the unified curriculum guarantees quality. In a world where there is a bewildering array of schools teaching in English on the “international circuit”, the guarantee offered by a well developed national system, is a source of confidence and stability in what might well be an unfamiliar environment.


Avi-Cenna enjoys a good reputation for high standards of academic achievement. Education in Pre-School, Primary and Secondary is based upon the English National Curriculum which has a clearly defined series of academic and other objectives at every level, known as the *Key Stages. You can access detailed information about the content of the English National Curriculum at:

*What are the Key Stages?

The British Curriculum is divided into four Key Stages that children are taken through during their school life. For example, Key Stage 1 is taught during Years 1 and 2 of primary school. Targets defined in the National Curriculum are assessed at the end of each Key Stage.

The four Key Stages:
Key Stage 1 Ages 5-7 Years 1 and 2
Key Stage 2 Ages 7-11 Years 3, 4, 5 and 6
Key Stage 3 Ages 11-14 Years 7, 8 and 9
Key Stage 4 Ages 14-16 Years 10 and 11